ICC CWC 2019: All You Need To Know

WC News

The upcoming ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019 will be played from 30 May 2019 to 14 July 2019 in England & Wales. A total of 10 teams will take part in the tournament. With likes of Ms.Dhoni, Imran Tahir, Shoaib Malik, Mohammed Hafeez & many more others set to play their last World Cup, so expect this to be a exciting one.


The upcoming ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019 will see the winners of the tournament earn a purse of $ 4 million, the highest prize money to date, along with the trophy that they will lift at Lord’s on 14 July.

The total prize pot of $10 million will see the runners-up assured of $2 million and the losing semifinalists $ 800,000 each at the end of the 46-day tournament being played across 11 venues from 30 May. 

There are prizes for each league match won, in what promises to be a competitive tournament with the world’s best playing each other in a round-robin format.

ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Prize Money

ICC CWC 2019 – Prize Money Total
Winner (1) $ 4,000,000$ 4,000,000$ 4,000,000
Runner-up (1) $ 2,000,000$2,000,000$2,000,000
Losing Semi-Finalist (2) $800,000$ 800,000$ 1,600,000
Winner of Each League Stage Match (45) $ 40,000$ 40,000$ 1,800,000
Teams that do pass the League Stage (6) $ 100,000$ 100,000$ 600,000
Total $10,000,000 $10,000,000


While ICC has also announced a big pool of renowned commentators from all-over the World including some Women Commentators too. From India Harsha Bhogle, Sourav Ganguly & Sanjay Manjrekar will be present in the Mega Tournament. The List of rest of the commentators is as follows:

  1. Michael Clarke
  2. Nasser Hussain
  3. Ian Bishop
  4. Sourav Ganguly
  5. Melanie Jones
  6. Kumar Sangakkara
  7. Michael Atherton
  8. Alison Mitchell
  9. Brendon McCullum
  10. Graeme Smith
  11. Wasim Akram
  12. Shaun Pollock
  13. Michael Slater
  14. Mark Nicholas
  15. Michael Holding
  16. Isa Guha
  17. Pommie Mbangwa
  18. Sanjay Manjrekar
  19. Harsha Bhogle
  20. Simon Doull
  21. Ian Smith
  22. Ramiz Raja
  23. Athar Ali Khan
  24. Ian Ward


A extensive list of match officials with likes Chris Broad, Kumar Dharmasena & Aleem Dar was announced a few days ago. Sundaram Ravi will be the only one to represent India in the Mega Tournament.

Match Referees: Chris Broad, David Boon, Andy Pycroft, Jeff Crowe, Ranjan Madugalle, Richie Richardson.

Umpires: Aleem Dar, Kumar Dharmasena, Marais Erasmus, Chris Gaffaney, Ian Gould, Richard Illingworth, Richard Kettleborough, Nigel Llong, Bruce Oxenford, Sundaram Ravi, Paul Reiffel, Rod Tucker, Joel Wilson, Michael Gough, Ruchira Palliyaguruge, Paul Wilson.


On 29th May 2019, The ICC Cricket World Cup will open in style with the Opening Party!

Held on The Mall, in front of Buckingham Palace in central London, the Opening Party will be a globally broadcast celebration of cricket, music and culture as the countdown to the cricket builds!

Fans will also be able to watch on TV around the world and follow on CWC19 digital channels.

Also, Star Sports is set to Broadcast the Party Live on it’s Channels.

Stay Tuned For More Updates!

Leave a Reply