Gill gets Call-Up for Test’s against South Africa


Today, the BCCI announced Indian Test Squad for the Home Series against South Africa. The South Africa’s tour of India will start on 15th September with a 3 match T20I series in Dharamshala followed by 2 T20I’s on 18th & 22nd at Mohali & Bengaluru. The squad for 3 match Test Series starting 2nd October and the venues are Vizag, the 2nd Test will be played in Pune from 10 October & 3rd will be played in Ranchi from 19 October. All the Test matches will have 9:30 AM start.

The only changes to team are Shubman Gill has been called in to replace KL Rahul while Rohit Sharma will open alongside Mayank Agarwal in the series. While Umesh Yadav has also been dropped. Whereas Hardik Pandya gets some more rest & will likely play for his domestic side.

The majority of the squd which played against West Indies has been retained with all 3 spinners R.Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja & Kuldeep and Virat as Captain along with Pujara, Hanuma Vihari & Vice-Captain Ajinkya Rahane. Plus W.Saha will keep the wickets with soon to be axed Rishab Pant as back-up for this series. It will be Jasprit Bumrah’s first Home Test Series since his debut, also Ishant Sharma & Mohammed Shami will join him as back-ups.


Leave a Reply