IND W vs SA W, 1st ODI: Preview

Match Previews (W)

A strong start to the Home Season by blanking visiting South African Team by 3-1 in a six match T20I series just 6 months before the World T20 2020 to be held in Australia. Now the Mithali Raj led side will look to replicate the same in ODI’s which Harmanpreet & Co. did in T20I’s a few days back. The likes of Priya Punia & seasoned campaigner Captain Mithali & ace pacer Jhulan Goswami are back in fold & will look to flatten out the visitors but expect a all-out spin attack to cut loose this strong looking South African Women side. The spin bowling is a factor which separates the two side & gives India Women a upper-hand overall. The 3 match ODI series will be played in Vadodara at Reliance Stadium with the game scheduled on 9, 11, 14 October respectively. This venue is known for modest totals ranging between 150 runs to 268 odd runs so far. Expect it to be cracker of a game with decent amount of spectators expected after seeing full house in Surat during T20I’s.

Pitch- The match will be played Reliance Stadium, Vadodara. The pitch here is expected to be spin friendly as the home team rely on their strong spin attack. Whereas rain can play spoilsport as it has played during the ongoing Vijay Hazare Trophy in the same city.

If you like this blog then, Become A Member for free:

Sign Up

Time- 9:30 AM IST; Date- 09 Oct 2019

Head-to-Head- Ind 11-7 Sa

Games Drawn= 0

No Result= 1

Total games played= 19

Broadcast- The match will be Broadcasted Live on Hotstar App.


South Africa – Biggest concern for young captain Sune Luus will be the fielding & countering the Indian Spin Attack but experienced campaigners like du prize & Kapp can come to teams rescue.

Squad- Sune Luus (C), Laura Wolvaardt, Nadine de Klerk, Lara Goodall, Nondumiso Shangase, Marizanne Kapp, Tazmin Brits , Trisha Chetty, Lizelle Lee (WK), Mignon du Preez, Shabnim Ismail, Ayabonga Khaka, Tumi Sekhukhune 

Check out World Test Championship Info & Standings

India A sudden retirement from T20Is by Mithali before the same opponents shook everyone but she is all set along with likes of Priya Punia & seasoned campaigner Jhulan Goswami to rock the visitors and start a new dawn of Women’s Cricket in India with sight at the 2021 Women’s World Cup to be held in New Zealand. While building a good pace attack will also be on agenda of the home team.

Smriti Mandhana has been ruled out of the series due to fractured toe. The extent of injury is yet to determined but Pooja Vastrakar has been added to the squad as replacement.

Squad– Mithali Raj(C), Priya Punia, Jemimah Rodrigues, Harmanpreet Kaur, Punam Raut, Taniya Bhatia(Wk), Deepti Sharma, Shikha Pandey, Poonam Yadav, Ekta Bisht, D.Hemalatha, Mansi Joshi, Jhulan Goswami, R.Gayakwad, P.Vastrakar

Leave a Reply